Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

does arrow on change of possesion change if team doesn't get ball inbounds?

Asked by Jeff over 9 years ago

yes, the arrow changes once the ball it at the disposal of the throw in player.

Is there a rule in Indiana High School re: Can a coach play a freshman player who is not on JV roster in some games / not all games whch takes out a JV player who is on JV roster, he isn,t even able to dress in uniform and sit on bench with team.

Asked by Jackiejdp over 9 years ago

I do not know. Each state association sets rules for eligibility so you will have to check with Indiana's high school association.

Can I email you a video and can you tell me if it is travelling? I have an ongoing argument and I need to put it to rest. Thank you.

Asked by Mike almost 10 years ago

Sure. put in your email address and I will contact you.

I jump out of bounds to save a ball, ball gets saved (bounces a couple of times), I go in bounds to get the ball. I dribble the ball then I get called for travel. Is this a bad call? I haven't established clear possession yet.

Asked by tonyastro over 9 years ago

If you directed the ball purposely (saved the ball from going out of bounds) by redirecting the ball in a controlled way that constitutes possession. Ref's judgement as to whether you controlled the loose ball, or not.

The player catches the ball under the basket with both feet planted. He then hops backwards landing on both feet and shoots the layup. is this a travel?

Asked by Coach Joe over 9 years ago

As you describe it, it is traveling. If you catch the ball with both feet on the ground, when you lift one of the feet the other becomes the pivot. But if a player hops, neither foot is a pivot and it is traveling.

can a high school referee reverse a technical foul on a coach.

Asked by Tankcrewman over 9 years ago

yes if he changes the call right away. it looks sloppy, but if it is the right thing to do he should reverse it.

A1 fouls B1, B2 fouls A2 with two officials calling the fouls at the same time. Team B is in the bonus, Team A is not. Do you shoot a bonus for Team B or do you resume play at point of interruption?

Asked by RefnDre almost 10 years ago

If the officials determine that the fouls were simultaneous then no free throws are shot, and it goes back to the point of interruption. If the simultaneous fouls were committed with no team possession (for example while rebounding) then it goes to the possession arrow.

If the second foul was intentional and committed after the first foul it would be a technical. Then you would administer the penalties for the first foul (free throws if in the bonus or on a shooting foul), then you would administer the technical foul and the ball would be taken out at half court by the opponent of the technical foul shooter.